Emergency assistance for persons who have received a final decision dismissing their application and ordering their removal

Go to page «Social assistance»

Within the framework of the 2003 budget cuts, the Federal Parliament also decided on various economy measures within the asylum sector. Since the 1st of April 2004, the Federal Government only pays the cantons a one-time lump sum for emergency assistance – as opposed to standard social assistance – for persons who have received a decision to dismiss an application without entering into the substance of the case and whose removal order became res iudicata. In addition to this change in subsidies, the Parliament also decided that those persons, who are ordered to leave Switzerland as mentioned above, are no longer subject to the provisions of the Asylum Act and therefore may no longer claim any right to welfare benefits. Since this new clause came into force the 1st of April 2004, this group has been excluded from welfare structures. Anyone who remains in Switzerland in violation of their obligation to leave the country and subsequently gets into a position of need may, however, apply for emergency assistance under the provisions of Article 12 of the Federal Constitution. Periodic reports on the effects of the new provisions are available to the public on the Internet.

Extending the withdrawal of social assistance to other groups of persons

The group of persons who are no longer eligible to receive social assistance was extended under the provisions of the revised Asylum Act of the 16th of December 2005. Since the 1st of January 2008, everyone being obliged to leave Switzerland after his or her application has been dismissed can be excluded from receiving social assistance.

Anyone who gets into a position of need may apply for emergency assistance. The payment of such assistance is made under the provisions of cantonal law.

Costs arising from emergency assistance are recorded and made available to the public on the Internet.

The Federal Government reimburses the cantons by means of a one-time lump sum payment for the costs incurred for emergency assistance to persons who are obliged to leave Switzerland following a final decision. In 2008 these costs amounted to 6000 Swiss francs per person. Two-thirds of this amount (i.e. 4000 Swiss francs) is paid to the canton in which the person in question resides. One-third (i.e. 2000 Swiss francs) is initially kept back by the Federal Government to be distributed on agreement by the cantons.

Aide d’urgence accordée aux personnes frappées d’une décision de renvoi et tenues de quitter la Suisse

Retour à «Aide sociale »
«Exclusion de l’aide sociale NEM»

Dans le cadre du programme d’allègement budgétaire 2003, le Parlement fédéral avait décidé d’adopter des mesures d’économie également dans le domaine de l’asile. Au lieu de l’aide sociale ordinaire, la Confédération a donc versé aux cantons, à partir du 1er avril 2004, une indemnité unique au titre de l’aide d’urgence pour les personnes frappées d’une décision de non-entrée en matière (NEM) et dont la décision de renvoi est entrée en force. Outre cette modification touchant aux subventions, le Parlement a décidé que les personnes tenues de quitter la Suisse suite à une décision de non-entrée en matière ne relevaient plus de la loi sur l’asile (LAsi) et ne pouvaient dès lors plus invoquer le droit aux prestations d’aide sociale prévues dans la LAsi. Par conséquent, elles ont été exclues des structures d’aide sociale dès l’entrée en vigueur de la modification de loi, soit à partir du 1er avril 2004. Quiconque séjournait encore en Suisse en dépit de l’obligation de quitter le pays et se retrouvait dans une situation de détresse pouvait en revanche solliciter une aide d’urgence en vertu de l’article 12 de la Constitution fédérale. Des rapports périodiques, publiés sur la Toile, ont rendu compte des effets de cette modification de loi et de système.

«Extension de l’exclusion de l’aide sociale ordinaire»

A l’occasion de la modification de la loi sur l’asile du 16 décembre 2005, le Parlement fédéral a étendu la mesure d’exclusion de l’aide sociale ordinaire. Depuis le 1er janvier 2008, toutes les personnes qui, suite à une décision d’asile négative, doivent quitter impérativement la Suisse sont également exclues de l’aide sociale ordinaire. Si, du 1er avril 2004 au 31 décembre 2007, seuls les personnes dont la demande d’asile avait fait l’objet d’une NEM ne pouvaient plus toucher des prestations d’aide sociale, depuis le début de 2008, cette restriction touche tout requérant visé par une décision de renvoi entrée en force et tenu de quitter la Suisse.

Quiconque se retrouve dans une situation de détresse peut solliciter une aide d’urgence. L’octroi des prestations d’aide d’urgence est régi par le droit cantonal.

Comme sous le régime précédent, les dépenses d’aide d’urgence sont évaluées et les résultats publiés sous forme de rapports.

Moyennant une indemnité forfaitaire unique, la Confédération indemnise les cantons de leurs frais d’aide d’urgence engagés pour les personnes frappées d’une décision de renvoi et tenues de quitter le Suisse. En 2008, ce forfait s’est élevé à 6000 francs par personne. Deux tiers du forfait (soit 4'000 francs) sont versés au canton chargé de l’exécution du renvoi selon le la loi sur l’asile et celle des étrangers (canton d’attribution). La Confédération retient provisoirement le tiers restant (2'000 francs), qui est ensuite réparti conformément aux instructions consensuelles des cantons.