Federal Office of Police

Sixth report on the current information assurance situation by the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance

Press Release, fedpol, 09.05.2008

Bern. The human-computer interface as a point of attack, developments in espionage and data theft, and the threats emanating from botnets and distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks: These are the topics discussed in the sixth semi-annual report of the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI). The report assesses the situation in the second half of 2007 and is now available at www.melani.admin.ch.

The human-computer interface is becoming more and more important in the field of information assurance and Internet crime. As more sophisticated technical measures improve the security of computer systems, criminal acts on the Internet are now increasingly targeting users. This is confirmed in the semi-annual report published today by the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI).

Industrial espionage and data theft

The threat emanating from targeted espionage both against government systems and businesses persists. Here again, the human user is in the crosshairs of the attacker. Detailed research on potential victims facilitates social engineering, the exploitation of the user's good faith. Generally by means of carefully crafted e-mails, the goal is to induce the user to click on a link, thereby triggering the installation of malware that is not recognized by the usual up-to-date anti-virus software. To successfully defend against these attacks, technical measures such as firewalls help, but even more important are the sensitization of computer users and clear guidelines for the use of documents and files.

Greatest threat: Botnets

Attackers are potentially interested in any computer, whether to steal data or information that can be converted into money, or to integrate the computer into a botnet. Botnets are currently the greatest threat on the Internet. These are computers that are remote-controlled and secretly integrated into networks without the knowledge of the user, so that they can be abused for illegal purposes. Such purposes include the distribution of spam, hosting of illegal content, obtaining of information, installation of advertising programmes, and distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks.

DDoS attacks – also in Switzerland

The goal of DDoS attacks is to attack the victim's computer simultaneously using many different systems, causing it to overload and crash. In the last half year, DDoS attacks have also been observed in Switzerland, and it must be expected that they will occur even more frequently in the future. The technical potential is available, and the spectrum ranges from disrupting Internet transactions of a competitor to classic DDoS blackmail.

You can protect yourself from these threats: through proper conduct on the Internet and protection of your computer with a firewall, regular software updates, and up-to-date anti-virus software.

For more information
Pascal Lamia, Federal Strategy Unit for IT (FSUIT), Director of the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI), T +41 31 31 323 45 06

Bundesamt für Polizei

Sechster Bericht der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung zur Lage in der Informationssicherung

Medienmitteilungen, fedpol, 09.05.2008

Bern. Die Schnittstelle Mensch-Computer als Angriffspunkt, die Entwicklung bei Spionage und Datendiebstähle sowie die Gefahr, welche von Botnetzen und Distributed-Denial-of-Service (DDoS)-Attacken ausgeht: Dies sind die Themen des sechsten Halbjahresberichtes der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung (MELANI). Der Bericht beurteilt die Lage im zweiten Halbjahr 2007 und ist ab sofort abrufbar unter www.melani.admin.ch.

Im Bereich der Informationssicherung und der Internetkriminalität rückt die Bedeutung der Schnittstelle Mensch-Computer weiter in den Vordergrund. Weil die verbesserten technischen Massnahmen die Sicherheit der Systeme erhöhen, richten sich kriminelle Handlungen im Internet immer mehr gegen die Benutzer. Dies bestätigt der heute veröffentlichte Halbjahresbericht der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung (MELANI).

Industriespionage und Datendiebstähle

Die Bedrohung durch gezielte Spionage sowohl gegen Regierungssysteme wie auch gegen Unternehmen bleibt bestehen. Auch hier steht der Mensch im Visier der Angreifer. Detaillierte Recherchen über mögliche Opfer erleichtern das Social Engineering, das Ausnutzen der Gutgläubigkeit der Benutzer. Ziel dabei ist es, den Benutzer meist per Mail zu verleiten, einen Link anzuklicken und damit schädliche Malware zu installieren, welche von gängiger aktueller Antiviren-Software nicht erkannt wird. Um diese Angriffe erfolgreich abzuwehren, spielen nebst den technischen Schutzmassnahmen wie Firewalls vor allem die Sensibilisierung des Computer-Nutzers sowie klare Richtlinien im Umgang mit Dokumenten und Dateien eine wichtige Rolle.

Grösste Bedrohung: Botnetz
Für die Angreifer ist jeder Computer interessant, sei es um Daten oder Informationen zu stehlen, welche sich zu Geld machen lassen, oder um den Rechner in ein Botnetz zu integrieren. Botnetze sind momentan die grösste Bedrohung im Internet. Es handelt sich um Computer, welche ferngesteuert und heimlich in Netzwerke eingebunden werden, ohne dass der Benutzer dies bemerkt, damit sie für illegale Zwecke missbraucht werden können. Darunter fallen Spam-Versand, Hosting illegaler Inhalte, Informationsbeschaffung, Installation von Werbeprogrammen sowie Distributed-Denial-of-Service (DDoS)-Attacken.

DDoS-Attacken - auch in der Schweiz

Das Ziel von DDoS-Attacken ist es, den Rechner des Opfers von vielen verschiedenen Systemen aus gleichzeitig anzugreifen und durch die Überlastung arbeitsunfähig zu machen. Auch in der Schweiz sind im letzten Halbjahr DDoS-Attacken beobachtet worden und es muss davon ausgegangen werden, dass diese in Zukunft noch vermehrt zum Einsatz kommen. Das technische Potential ist vorhanden und das Spektrum reicht von der Störung der Internetgeschäfte eines Mitbewerbers bis hin zur klassischen DDoS-Erpressung.

Vor diesen Gefahren kann man sich schützen: Durch das richtige Verhalten im Internet und den Schutz des Computers durch eine Firewall, regelmässige Software Updates und mit aktueller Antiviren Software.

Weitere Auskünfte
Pascal Lamia, Informatikstrategieorgan Bund ISB, Leiter der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung MELANI, T +41 31 31 323 45 06